Arkansas, The Natural State.
Lakes, mountains, forests, rivers, farming and more.
Arkansas means "south wind" and comes from Indian descriptions of the Quapaws, an early Indian tribe in Arkansas.
Arkansas was admitted to the Union in 1836 and the pronunciation "Ark-an-saw" was brought into usage by the 1881 General Assembly.
Population - 2,673,400
Entered the Union on June 15, 1836 (25th state)
52,068 square miles (ranks 27th in state sizes)
The Capital is Little Rock (Population 183,133)
Time Zone is Central
The state is 275 miles wide and 240 miles long
Highest Point : Magazine Mountain, Logan County (2,753 feet)
Lowest Point : Ouachita River, Union County (54 feet)
There's a lot of water in the state - over 600,000 acres.
9,700 miles of streams and rivers.
The average annual temperature is 51-73 degrees Fahrenheit
Average Rainfall : 45-54 inches
Average Snowfall : 2.8-10.4 inches
Average Growing Season : 180-240 days
Number of State Parks : 51
State Motto - Regnat Populus (The People Rule)
State Nickname - "The Natural State"
National forestland - 2.4 million acres.
Main Industries : Manufacturing, agriculture, tourism
The State Bird - Mockingbird
State Flower - Apple blossom
State Fruit/Vegetable - Pink tomato
State Tree - Pine
State Insect - Honeybee
State Beverage - Milk
State Musical Instrument - Fiddle
State Gem - Diamond
State Mammal - White-tail deer
Speed limits on major freeways in Arkansas are from 60 to 70 mph.
State law requires all passengers to wear seat belts.
Right turn on red at a traffic signal is permitted after you come to a full stop and yield to pedestrians and other traffic , unless a "No Turn on Red" or other similar sign is posted.
Vehicle headlights must be turned on when windshield wipers are being operated.
Arkansas strictly enforces drunk-driving laws.
All children under the age of five must wear appropriate safety restraints while the vehicle is in motion. Children under the age of four and weighing less than 40 pounds must be secured in an approved safety seat.
Special parking spaces are provided throughout the state. Arkansas recognizes official forms of identification used by other states, such as placards, stickers and plates. Illegally parked vehicles will be ticketed or towed.
School Bus Laws
Vehicles approaching from either direction must stop and remain stopped while the front and rear lights of school buses are flashing, except when approaching from the opposite direction on a divided highway.
Emergency Phone Numbers
State Police 601-618-8100
Arkansas is in the Central Time zone. From the first Saturday in April until the last Saturday in October, Arkansas observes Daylight Savings Time.
State Sales Tax
Arkansas state retail sales tax is 5.125%. Many cities have a local tax in addition.
Sunday sales are determined by local law. The Legal age is 21. Sold by package and by the drink; subject to amendment by local option.